Grant Wood Area Education Agency, one of nine AEAs in Iowa, is committed to educational success for all learners. View

Equity. Efficiency. Excellence.

Iowa's Area Education Agencies were created by the 1974 Iowa Legislature to ensure all children have equal educational opportunities. Grant Wood Area Education Agency is  one of nine AEAs in the state, and serves as an intermediate agency providing educational services to local schools.  Ƶ staff are committed to unlocking the potential of each and every learner.

Our Mission: To Ensure Success for All Learners

Ƶ provides programs and services designed to support quality education for all students by improving teaching and learning.

Our Mission, Core Values and Goals PDF (Click to view full size)

Staff services and materials from the agency are available without charge, except for services such as printing, data-processing, special events with outside speakers, or individualized requests.

These services support more than 72,000 students in public and approved non-public schools in seven counties are served by Ƶ. This area includes Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn and Washington counties.

The agency staff operate three facilities: two in Cedar Rapids and one in Coralville. However, nearly 60 percent of agency staff is assigned to specific schools as part of a regional team. They work directly with children and educators as an integral part of the local school staff. Others serve schools in a consultant or itinerant basis, offer courses or workshops, or link schools with other persons, agencies or materials that meet their need.

View agency Mission, Core Values and Goals PDF.

Facts at a Glance Ƶ Ƶ

  • 32 public school districts1
  • 15 state accredited non-public schools1
  • Nine independent accredited non-public schools1
  • Approximately 250 school administrators
  • Approximately 5,800 teachers, counselors, teacher librarians, nurses, and paraeducators
  • 73,695students ²
    • 8,447 children ages 3-21 who receive special education services3
  • Nine Ƶ board members
  • Seven counties (Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Washington)
  • 4,900 square miles
  • 480,783 population4
  • FY2022 Audited Financial Report
  • 2024 Budget Notice

(Public and Non-Public)
3Ƶ Certified Count, October 2022


Learn more about our programs and services.